Sunday, July 14, 2024
HomeNewsDecoding the 14 Opposition MPs Suspended from Lok Sabha: Who, Why, and...

Decoding the 14 Opposition MPs Suspended from Lok Sabha: Who, Why, and What’s Next?

New Delhi,14 December(City Times): Who Are the Opposition Suspended MPs: In a surprising turn of events, 14 opposition Members of Parliament found themselves suspended from the Lok Sabha during the Winter Session. The suspension was a consequence of their alleged disregard for the chair’s directives, a move that has stirred political debates and raised questions about accountability.

Who Are the Opposition Suspended MPs?

The list includes prominent figures such as Kanimozhi Karunanidhi, Manickam Tagore, PR Natrajan, VK Sreekandan, Mohammad Jawed, SR Parthiban, S Venkatesan, Benny Behanan, K Subbarayan, Dean Kuriakose, Hibi Eden, TN Prathapan, Ramya Haridas, and Jothimani Sennimalai.

Why Were Opposition MP Suspended?

The suspension resolutions were initiated by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi, citing the MPs’ “utter disregard” for the House and the Chair. The opposition’s intensified demand for the resignation of Union Home Minister Amit Shah further fueled the debates.

Reaction and Controversies on Opposition MPs Suspended

The opposition, led by Congress Rajya Sabha MP KC Venugopal, condemned the suspension as a “horrible, undemocratic move.” The aftermath saw protests and demands for accountability, particularly in light of the recent Lok Sabha security breach.

Profiles of the Suspended MPs

  1. Kanimozhi Karunanidhi: MP from Thoothukkudi, Tamil Nadu, and daughter of former CM M. Karunanidhi.
  2. Manickam Tagore: Congress MP from Virudhunagar, Tamil Nadu, and a prominent party leader.
  3. PR Natrajan: CPIM leader representing Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, and parliamentary group leader.
  4. VK Sreekandan: Congress MP from Palakkad, Kerala, and president of the Palakkad district Congress Committee.
  5. Mohammad Jawed: Congress MP from Kishanganj, Bihar, and former working president of Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee.
  6. SR Parthiban: DMK MP from Salem, Tamil Nadu, and former MLA from Mettur.
  7. S Venkatesan: CPI(M) MP from Madurai, Tamil Nadu, and a Tamil writer.
  8. Benny Behanan: Congress MP from Chalakudy, Kerala, and former MLA.
  9. K Subbarayan: CPI MP from Tiruppur, Tamil Nadu, and a member of the CPI.
  10. Dean Kuriakose: Congress MP from Idukki, Kerala, and former state president of Indian Youth Congress.
  11. Hibi Eden: Congress MP from Ernakulam, Kerala, and son of late MP George Eden.
  12. TN Prathapan: Congress MP from Thrissur, Kerala, and former MLA.
  13. Ramya Haridas: Congress MP from Alathur, Kerala, and the second-ever Dalit woman MP from Kerala.
  14. Jothimani Sennimalai: Congress MP from Karur, Tamil Nadu, and a prominent politician and writer.

Derek O’Brien’s Suspension in Rajya Sabha

The suspension saga extended to the Rajya Sabha, where TMC MP Derek O’Brien faced suspension for alleged “unruly” conduct. The motion was moved by Leader of the House Piyush Goyal, leading to a controversial situation.

Recap of Security Breach and Demands for Accountability

The suspension developments occurred in the aftermath of a significant security breach in the Lok Sabha. The opposition’s demand for action against BJP MP Pratap Simha, accused of facilitating the intruders’ access pass, echoed within the parliamentary debates.

The suspension of these 14 opposition MPs has injected a new layer of complexity into the ongoing Winter Session. The “who, why, and what’s next” framework encapsulates the unfolding narrative, marked by political tensions, demands for accountability, and the ever-present debates over democratic principles.

You May Like This News: Unrest in Parliament: Full List Of 15 Opposition MPs Suspended Over Security Breach

You May Like This Hindi News:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments